The Recca no Honoo manga was adapted into an anime by Studio Pierrot back in 1997. First aired last July 17, 1997 on Fuji Television, it ended last July 10, 1998 with a total of 42 episodes. Several differences could be noted between the anime and the manga. For one, the art and coloring of some characters differ. Fuuko has brown hair and green eyes in the manga while she sports purple hair and blue eyes in the anime. Also, Tokiya has light blue hair in the manga while he has greyish brown hair in the anime. Aside from the art differences, there are also some aspects of the fights that changed. One fight that changed drastically was the fight between Joker and Koganei in the Ura Butou Satsujin finals. Though it ended the same, in the anime, we didn't get to see what Joker's madougu power is and what he could do. And last but not the least, the anime only tackles the manga up to the Ura Butou Satsujin arc which is just really half of the story.


Hanabishi ReccaOkano Kousuke
Sakoshita YanagiMasuda Yuki
Kirisawa FuukoHiramatsu Akiko
Ishijima DomonTobita Nobuo
Mikagami TokiyaMidorikawa Hikaru
Koganei KaoruKumai Motoko
KureiOkiayu Ryotaro
JokerMadono Mitsuaki


  1. The Princess and her Ninja! Power Awakens!
  2. Fire and Wind, the Fatal Temptation!
  3. The Soldier of Water! The Plane of Revenge!
  4. The Maze of Mirror adn the Determined Flame
  5. The Mystery of the Hokage Ninja
  6. The Dangerous Master of Flame, Kurei!
  7. A Deadly Struggle, the Guardian of Stone
  8. Room of the Doll! Fuko's Fatal Combat!
  9. Devil Domon! Overwhelming Power!
  10. The War of Flames! The Fight Between Hokage Descendants
  11. Adamantium Blade's Five Different Forms!
  12. Kurenai, the Flame of the Angel of Death
  13. The Ultimate Flame! Legend of the Fire Dragons
  14. The Past is Brought Forward! The Truth of 400 Years Ago!
  15. The Curse that Separates Mother and Son
  16. Determination to Fight! Recca's Challenge!
  17. Hokage's Arrival! The Urubatousatsujin
  18. The Opening Battle! Mikagami's Sword
  19. Unexploded Iron Fist! Domon's Last Resort
  20. Secret of the Maiden's Skin
  21. Paper Dance! Breathing in Life!
  22. The Terrible Monster has Changed! Kaoru is in Danger!
  23. Trial of Life and Death!
  24. The Call from the Monster, the Warrior from Hell
  25. What an Attack! The Lightning Battle
  26. Mokuren has Returned! The Danger of the Human Tree
  27. The Reason for her Tear! The Girl with the Hairblade!
  28. The Instantaneous Flame, the Flame of Saiha
  29. Dangerous Lips! The Madougu of Speech!
  30. The Seduction fo the Beautiful. Dangerous Duet!
  31. The Cursed Flame! The Past of Kurei
  32. The Invisible Enemy! A Horrible Battle
  33. Two Dragons! The Stolen Move!
  34. Skin Covered in Bruises! Fuko's Tough Fight!
  35. Answer to a Maiden's Prayer! The True Power of Fujin
  36. The Fire Dragons United! The Enemy Outside the Ring!
  37. Escape from the Oblivious Dimension! The Battle of the Other Place!
  38. Horror! The Walking Corpse
  39. Mikagami Battles. Desperate Ice Sword!
  40. Trap of the Evil Woman. The God of Wind is Furious!
  41. Fight Again! Recca & Kurei
  42. The Deadly Battle! When the Candle of Life Burns out.
Joker Fanlisting Site Main